Logo for The Dan M. Hunter Memorial Fund, Inc.

Past Winners of the Dan M. Hunter Memorial Fund Inc. Scholarship

2021: Abigail and Haley Lespier

The Dan M. Hunter Memorial Fund 2021 $1000 Scholarships were awarded to twin sisters Abigail and Haley Lespier of Maloney High School. Abigail and Haley both participated in Soccer, Basketball and Tennis for four years, serving as Captains in their senior year. Each has won multiple athletic and academic awards. Despite their busy schedules they still found time for over 200 hours of community service. They plan to attend Middlesex Community College in the fall with concentration on Sociology and Criminology. 

Pictured are Scholarship Committee Members Carol Carlson, Jeriann Hunter, rear Parents Al and Jessica Lespier, recipients Abigail and Haley Lespier, Cliff Carlson committee member. 

2020: Hannah Showerda

We are proud to announce Hannah G. Showerda as the 2020 recipient of the Dan M. Hunter scholarship. Hannah is a recent graduate of Maloney High School and is attending the University of St. Joseph pursuing a career in  nursing. Hannah achieved honors all 4 years and received many academic awards. She is a four year varsity soccer player and was captain of her team in 2019. She also held two jobs her junior and senior year while maintaining her busy lifestyle. Hannah says she is ready to get to work to learn everything she needs to know about helping people. Congratulations Hannah!

Pictured is Scholarship Committee Member Jeriann Hunter Presenting the $1000 check to Hannah accompanied by her parents Jesse and Jessica Showerda.

2019: Ethan J. Dudley

On June 24th, We proudly presented Ethan J. Dudley with the 2019 Dan M. Hunter scholarship award. Pictured below is Ethan, the 2018 Platt football captain, holding a picture of Dan Hunter, Platt’s 1978 captain. The scholarship committee including Carol Carlson, Cliff Carlson, Chelsea Hunter and Jer Hunter presented the $1000 check to Ethan, who was accompanied by his proud mom, Sarah Dudley. What an amazing family!! 



2018: Marley McClure

2018 Scholarship winnerThe Dan M. Hunter Memorial Fund is honored to present $1,000 to Marley McClure, this year’s scholarship winner! Marley and her proud parents, Robyn Kogut McClure, and Eoin McClure joined us for a wonderful evening of stories and memories of Dan.

Marley is an amazing young woman, having received numerous awards including The Award of Excellence in Spanish and English, Project Excel Award, and Distinguished Honors (all 4 years). Marley’s many hours of community service include volunteering as a youth soccer coach and elementary school tutor, as well as volunteering at local convalescent homes and with the Rotary Club.

Marley wrote, “Dan M. Hunter was the overall person I want to be like. Someone who loves their family, cares about others, a great leader, and has a big heart. Dan Hunter will always be a role model to others, as well as to me.” Marley will be attending Quinnipiac University in the fall pursuing a career in nursing. Congratulations, Marley!

2017: Nathaniel Gonzalez

2017 Scholarship winnerIt is with great pleasure that we announce Nathaniel Gonzalez as the 2017 Dan M. Hunter Memorial Scholarship recipient. Nathaniel recently graduated from Xavier High School. He was a member of the football, wrestling, and volleyball teams as well as on the student council and several clubs. He contributed many hours of community service volunteering with school, church, and community groups. He received awards for academic excellence as well.

He plans to attend the Franciscan University of Steubenville, Ohio with emphasis on a pre-medical program. Congratulations, Nathaniel!

2016: Dominique Carnot

2016 Scholarship winnerThe Dan M. Hunter Scholarship Committee is extremely proud to announce Dominique Carnot as the 2016 recipient of the Dan M. Hunter Memorial Scholarship. Dominique is a recent grad of Maloney High School, where she was a member of several clubs and committees, and was active on the tennis and volleyball teams. Dominique had an impressive 318 hours of community service, and started a mentoring program for students at Thomas Hooker School. She is now attending St Joseph’s College, pursuing a career in nursing.

Pictured is scholarship committee member Cliff Carlson with Dela Carnot, Dominique Carnot, and committee member Jeriann Hunter.

2015: Cameron Fahey

2015 Scholarship winnerThe 2015 Dan M Hunter Scholarship Award Recipient is Cameron Fahey from Maloney High School. He is a member of the National Honor Society, graduating with a GPA of 4.34. Additionally, he was a Record Journal Scholar Athlete for soccer and baseball. He was captain of the soccer team. He was secretary of his class and liaison to the Board of Education. He has logged over 320 community service hours volunteering at an autism camp and Camp Cuno.

Cameron will be attending Bentley University in the fall as a business major. We wish him the best of luck!

2014: Rachel Leaverton

2014 Scholarship winnerCongratulations to Rachel Leaverton, our 2014 recipient of the Dan M. Hunter Memorial Fund scholarship! Rachel is a senior at Platt High School, where she is very involved in clubs as well as athletics. Rachel is also an active member in her community of Meriden.

We wish Rachel the best of luck as she attends the University of Connecticut in the fall!

2013: Alexis Mack

2013 Scholarship winnerCongratulations to Alexis Mack, winner of the 2013 Dan M. Hunter Memorial Fund Scholarship! Alexis graduated from Maloney High School where she was VP of her class and captain of the soccer team. She was a two-year all conference CCC South soccer selection. Alexis also completed 533 hours of community service!

Alexis will be continuing her education at Albertus Magnus College. We would like to wish her the best of luck on her future endeavors!

2012: James Underwood

2012 Scholarship winnerCongratulations to the 2012 winner of the Dan M. Hunter Memorial Fund Scholarship, James Underwood! James demonstrated outstanding leadership, hard work, and determination throughout his high school career at H.C. Wilcox Technical High School, where he maintained a 98.4 average. He was the captain of the baseball team and cross country team, as well as a player on the basketball team. James was a member of the Student Council and the Vice President of the National Honor Society. He has received numerous awards, including MVP for baseball, scholarly athlete award for cross country, CSC Baseball-Constitutional State Conference for 1st Team All League, and placed 1st and 3rd in Skills USA.

We are very proud of James and wish him the best of luck at Eastern Connecticut State University!

2011: Tina Dutra

2011 Scholarship winnerCongratulations to Tina Dutra, graduate of Platt High School, who is the 2011 Dan Hunter Memorial Fund Scholarship award recipient. Tina participated in robotics, tennis and cross country as well as other activities while at Platt. She was very active in student government and was president of her class.

Tina is continuing her education at Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Worcester, Massachusetts.

2010: Chelsea Carroll

2010 Scholarship winnerCongratulations to the 2010 Dan M. Hunter Memorial Fund $1,000 scholarship recipient Chelsea Carroll! Chelsea is a recent graduate of Maloney High School and will be attending Elms College in Chicopee, Massachusetts in the fall with the intention of pursuing a career in nursing as well as continuing her soccer career.

We are extremely proud of you and wish you all the best in your future endeavors!

2020 Virtual STORM THE CASTLE Run

5k or 10k run/walk Saturday, October 31, 2020 Runners choice of location Learn More